Check the latest news  on the "What happened thie week ?" page. 

The main league fixures are now up on Chessnuts. I'll post the fixtures for the first rounds of the Mini, Rapid and Arjay as soon as we've made the first round draws.

British Rapid Play 2017 has a new venue but is still very much on our doorstep. Craiglands Hotel in Ilkley.  As usual all the details are on their website. The dates are 18th -19th Novenber 2017

Quick Links


This is the homepage of the Leeds Chess Association. 

We organise chess competitions and promote chess in the Leeds area. 

On these pages you'll find details of chess clubs in our area and links to other useful sites. 

If you want to check the latest fixtures, results or League tables, please go to the  Chessnuts website.  

New Season News

2017-18 Fixtures and Calendar now out.  Fixtures will go up on Chessnuts as soon as possible but they are published on a new page here for now.   Note that there are now 9 teams in Division 3 so these teams play of 18  weeks of fixtures, with one team receving a bye each week. There are no free league week dates, but teams in Division One and Two can if necessary use the extra "Division Three" weeks if we are unlucky enough to have any bad weather postponements.

The Calendar page has been updated with the 2017-18 program. Fixtures for the Mini & Rapid Play leagues, the Arjay Toprhy and Individuals will be posted in due course.

New Rules for the 2017-18 Season were agreed at the 2016-17 AGM 

I've updated the Rules and Constitution page.   

Incremental time control for the main leagues : 80 minutes for the whole game with     10 seconds increment per move  (If no digital clock available 35 moves in 75  minutes + 15 minutes to finish game)

 Revised incremental time control for the Rapid Play league : 25 minutes for all            moves with 10 seconds increment per move (if no digital clock available 30 minutes for all moves)

Please make sure that you know how to set up your club's digital clocks for these time controls!

Congratulations to all our 2016-2017 champions:



Runners Up

Division 1

Leeds CCCC A

Moortown A

Division 2

Copperworks B

Alwoodley B

Division 3

Rose Forgrove D

Limewood & Scarcroft A

Mini League

Limewood and Scarcroft 1



Moortown 1


Arjay Trophy

Rose Forgrove 1

Moortown 1

Arjay Plate

Alwoodley 1

Moortown 2

Team Lightning



Norman Ellis

Ian Hunter


Ken Appleby

Ian Strickland


Gambit Trophy

RIchard Hardy